GR 20 during March

Harald

Posted: Mon, Feb 27, 2012, 10:47

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the GR20 but am looking into doing it next month. I'll be taking a bombproof tent which can stand a lot of snow (Hilleberg Nammatj GT if you have to know), some type of minimalist crampons and an ice axe, among the other needed equipment for winter camping in the mountains.

I've read the topic of doing it in April but saw that it went off-topic quite fast so am here to ask some other questions:

Are there any places along the GR20 where I can resuply food during March? Villages closeby, ... ?
Is there a long length of trail where it is impossible to set up a tent because of rocks or other obstacles?
Is there anyone who has experience trekking the GR20 during the winter here?

That's it for now, I know there can be a lot of snow but the amount of snow and the texture of it at the moment looks promising, also the weather forcast doesn't seam bad.

Thanks for making this site and everyone who posted on the forum,

Harald

Michele

Posted: Mon, Feb 27, 2012, 12:29

Harald,

You have to get yourself a good map and chart your food resupply detours to the closest villages every time you are in need. Needless to say this will lengthen your trek. All the huts are in reasonably close range to the villages below (from where they get their food supplies), but sometimes the gap can be considerable.
As for the places where to set up camp, I doubt you should have any problems and if you're camping on the snow you won't have to bother with uneven terrain, stones etc.

As for the snow, I don't know what you mean with that "promising". Over here in Italy we've got a spell of heavy snowfalls which affected areas at the same latitude as Corsica. But you are probably more informed than me about the current Corsica weather conditions.