Solo hiker

Dell16

Posted: Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 18:16

I've been contemplating this trip for a few years now and I wanted to get an opinion of someone who's done it before. I'm sure most hikers go with at least one other person but I'm finding it hard to find a friend who'll be willing to go through with it and I'm wondering what past GR 20 hikers think of a young female going alone?

Michele

Posted: Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 20:38

Hi Dell,

I believe everybody will agree on the fact that the GR20 is considered to be safe for a solo female. In fact if you do it during the hiking season (June-September) you will always find people along the trail and at the huts. And you might also find other hikers like yourself that go at your same pace willing to walk with you.

--Michele

Tarjei

Posted: Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 20:41

For me it doesn't matter what others think, do what you feel is right for yourself. If you are comfortable walking by yourself, do it.

And, you will most likely meet other people on the way. I walked it alone, but met other people that I spent time with on the way.

Tarjei

Gaffr

Posted: Wed, Feb 19, 2014, 9:22

Hello,
I travelled solo up from Conca to Calinzana in June last year. As it was, during a previous trip, with my wife a few years ago there there were several folks 'going solo' along the route. One lady whom I met at the final camping in Calinzana had travelled solo but because she had been doubling-up on parts of the route I had not come across her at all along the route. It is a bit like that where everyone travels at their own pace so I guess that most days you meet up with different folks on the trail. Being a camper you tend to be a bit detached from the folks staying in the refuges and taking food in there.