Questions re starting GR20 in June

Danton

Posted: Wed, May 25, 2016, 21:25

Hello all,

I've been reading here for the past couple of weeks and obviously a lot of you have considerable experience doing the GR20. I will be starting the GR20 on 6 June from Conca and have about 17-18 days to complete it, so plenty of time I hope. I have done a lot of hiking around the world but it is my first time in Corsica. I have a few questions that some of you may be able to help with . . .

1. I will not be carrying a tent (to save weight), but I am wondering if booking the refuges is really necessary? As I say, I am starting on 6 June, surely it will not be too busy at this time? I am a little worried about the last couple of stages in the north, when there will be more people around. I guess that I'll be arriving at these about the 16-17 June. However as these are at the end of walk, they are also the hardest to predict as to when I will arrive.

2. What type of sleeping bag is required in the huts? Will a light bag be sufficient? I imagine that the cold will not be a problem in the huts?

3. I have read a lot about bed bugs! I have a bug sheet for a single mattress. Do you think I should bring it? Will it be any good for the beds in the huts?

4. I am hoping to climb some of the peaks, e.g. Monte Ritondu, Monte Cinto and Paglia Orba. From my reading Paglia Orba seems to be the most challenging of these. Has anyone climbed it, and does it require being roped up? I will not be carrying a rope.

5. I will be getting a ferry from Nice to Porto Vecchio. However there are two ferry departure points in Nice! Does anyone know from which the Porto Vecchio ferry leaves?! East or west pier?

6. And finally! Can I get a bus from Porto Vecchio to Conca? I will be arriving in Porto Vecchio at 7am approximately. If possible I would like to start walking this day and get as far as the Refuge de Paliri.

Thank you very much in advance for any replies, advice and suggestions!

Tarjei