Using a GPS

MrFaulty

Posted: Thu, Jan 12, 2017, 22:37

Hi, I am doing the GR 20 (south to north) in early June. I am going to take my Garmin etrex 30 so I can record the trip. Can anyone confirm that this will work as I am from Australia so it is an Australian model? I think it should as it works off satellites.

If it will owrk, can someone tell me what maps I need and where I should purchase them? I am a bit new to GPS sorry.

Cheers
Ben

Gaffr

Posted: Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 11:03

Hello,
As you will probably be aware that the GR20 is so well marked that a GPS would not be needed for navigation.
I have only ever used my GPS on the hills around Scotland so have not ever taken it abroad. I guess you would have to change the settings to match up with the French IGN system?
I have the IGN 1:25,000 maps for the length of the GR20....six maps in all....I only took them with me the first time that I went down there....too much weight to carry around.
However I did get the 1:100,000 IGN maps Nos. 175 and 176 which I found useful to give me a wider picture of the terrain than that provided by the Guide book basic maps....and they do say that these maps are 'compatible avec le systeme GPS'....whatever exactly that means?

Also I did download, I think that it was from a link on this site, the linear route maps for the GR20.
9 for the Northern section and of course 6 for the Southern section. Of course, although proper IGN maps 1:25,000, they are printable onto A4 paper but like the guidebooks just give a linear map view for each stage.

--

Gaffr

GRRR 20

Posted: Sat, Jan 14, 2017, 10:01

A GPS is OK for most of the time on the GR20, but in places where the trail keeps changing direction on very steep rock, it will be almost useless. Trust the paint marks FIRST. The paint marks are better than any map or GPS.

MrFaulty

Posted: Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 1:49