Gr20 in 12 days

kikidee

Posted: Thu, Sep 5, 2019, 15:08

Hi there,

I will start the GR20 on 16th September and have 12 days. I will go from North to South.
In your opinion which parts of the route can I do two stages on one day. I am interested in your opinion, or your experience.
/ I am in very good physical condition, 32 years old, my bag will be maximum 12-14 kg. / I do not have more time unfortunately.

Thank you for your answers

--

Kiki

Gaffr

Posted: Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 7:45

Hello,
I have no experience of doing more than one stage in a day....have done the route in both directions.
But I am an old pensioner and just happy to do one stage in a day.
By going from N to S if things are not going to schedule it is possible to get out and back to Bastia? by train.
If you look around the forum you will find some details of those doing double stages (and more) in a day.
The only time that I have been in Corsica during September, on a cross country route E to W, the weather was pleasantly warm. Our only contact with the GR20 was when we crossed it at the bocca di Laparo.

--

Gaffr

User7911

Posted: Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 8:39

If you're in VERY good physical condition and have hill experience 12 days is plenty time for the whole route. I did it last year in 10, could have pushed harder but wanted to spend more time in the hills and the last refuge - can't remember the name, is a great place to stop, highly recommended. Nice views, campsite and friendly host, with a cat:) Enjoy!

User7911

Posted: Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 8:56

IMO every stage can be doubled, however Refuge de Carrozzu to Bergeries de Ballone or Tighjettu is fairly intense, best to get an early start.

I did have the advantage of a light bag, 5 or 6 kilos. You can eat at the refuges and use their tents, saves carrying gear and food. I only brought a very light summer sleeping bag.

hubertc

Posted: Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 9:23